Secret non-dairy & soyless cheese

I've been on an endless search for a way to make my kids a real pizza -- you know, something that looks and tastes like the real thing, or as close as possible. So, first, the problem was making a gluten-free crust. That took a while. Now, I've finally developed a crust recipe that's actually very good. It's a variation of Noah's Recipe.

Then, it was the sauce. That wasn't so hard. I use a very basic pizza sauce, based on Hunt's tomato paste, which is GF.

The toppings really aren't that difficult either. Choose any you want that you know is GF and CF. I buy a GF brand of pepperoni. It's perfect.

The problem, of course, is the cheese, especially if you can't eat soy, which is what most "fake" cheeses are made from. Even so, most soy cheese tastes horrible.

And in my kids' cases, the cheese doesn't have to taste great, it's more of the appearance of real cheese that's important to them. We just can't have something that tastes bad -- like the soy.

So, I've finally found a solution: polenta.

Yes, polenta, for those who don't know, is corn meal that's been boiled into a solid cakelike substance. It's often sold in tubes and some brands clearly are marked gluten-free. You also can make this at home fairly easily. (If you can't eat corn, don't worry, you can make polenta out of nearly any grain, like millet, for example, or teff).

So, I took the polenta and grated it, like I would cheese. Say, about a cup. Toss it into a bowl. Then, add 1 tsp olive oil. And, add 1/2 tsp sea salt. Stir. This is the cheese topping. The polenta will cook, but not melt. The oil keeps it from drying out. The salt adds some flavor.

Trust me, this works.

I'll post the entire pizza recipe -- crust, sauce and cheese -- later this week. For now, go find some polenta and experiment. I'll also share some other polenta recipes using different grains.


Anonymous said…
wait, ok, so how would I make a non-corn ploenta? Say Millet? Just keep boiling it? How long? Do I have to compress it somehow? Help the newly GFCF+40 other "free's"...
Karen in WA
jim said…
Yeah, millet would work well. I've seen a recipe for this. I'll find it ...

I think you can make polenta out of most grains. Millet should be fine if you have corn issues.

If you can handle rice, Galaxy makes a rice-based cheese that does NOT have soy, gluten or casein. It also melts when you zap it with the microwave for a few seconds.

Popular posts from this blog

Macaroni and Cheese - GFCF & Soy Free!

Quick and easy gfcf chicken nuggets -- just like McDonalds

Pizza Crust - Allergy Free! (No gluten, dairy, egg or soy)